Product reviews for Feed-o-Matic ~ 12kgs Treadle Feeder

Write your own review
Bad Excellent

Existing reviews

Better than Grandpa's feeder

We've had a grandpa feeder for years. However, I like the feed-o-matic because it's easier to fill from the top and it's also quieter! The cushioning on grandpa wore out years ago and the lid bangs down. Provided the plastic on Feed-o survives UV, I consider it's a superior product (and cheaper too).
Greg from Chook Manor was excellent at arranging my order, saving me money on postage. Superb service in all respects.
From: Darrin | Date: 2/22/2019 10:24 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (2/0)

Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant

I purchased a bulk lot of Feed-o-matic feeders as my coops were getting swamped by birds and mice raiding the feed every day.  So easy to put together.  I estimate I have cut down on having to refill old feeders daily to once a week, if that.  We are saving so much feed that I estimate we have cut down wastage by 75%, if not more saving us money and time.  I have noticed that the coops are no longer filled with birds during the day and the mice I see are only picking up scraps the chooks may have dropped.  No more mice sitting out in the middle of the chook houses during the day looking fat and happy.
You cant go wrong with this feeders.
My husband is now thinking of purchasing some for his pheasants.
From: Donna | Date: 1/29/2018 11:44 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (2/0)

Time and Food Saver

We purchased the Feed-o-Matic 12kg model a couple months ago and it has already more than made up for itself in the amount of time AND food we have saved. Combined with the automatic bell drinker, this has made our 10 free-ranging chooks self sufficient for days at a time, meaning we can go away for weekends without having to worry.  Our chooks figured it out very quick and they seem to love it, no fighting and no one going hungry.  The only negative thing I would say is that when it's really wet, our brand of food (Farmgate Chook Tucker) does seem to expand and can get stuck falling down so the chooks have to work a little harder to access (i.e. the tray doesn't fill completely).  As long as you check every so often to make sure this isn't happening or maybe keep in a dry area, we still highly recommend it.  
From: Guest | Date: 8/20/2017 5:56 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (2/0)

Huge feed saver

My friend am I have tried a variety of feeders, this one is sparrow proof unlike others that claim to be, my food bill has dropped dramatically and my friend is now switching to this. Mid size lasts for around 3 weeks for 4 large hens. You must keep this in a dry covered area, it's not rain proof with windy storms. Also, do not put fine crumbs in this or it blocks the chute,  your hens end up starving while still looking like they have heaps of food. I can recommend it provided you take these precautions.
From: Guest | Date: 7/13/2017 12:28 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (1/1)

Great feeder!

I have found the feed o matic great and the hens all figured out how to use it pretty quick! Its so good not feeding all the sparrows :) thank you!
From: Guest | Date: 4/11/2017 12:55 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (1/0)

Feed o Matic 12 kgs Treadle Feeder

We are very happy with our Feeder, very easy to put together and for our chooks to use. A very sturdy and solid feeder. I think in the long run this will save us alot in food with less wastage and less sparrows. Thank you for a great service Chookmanor. Many thanks.
From: Eve | Date: 8/30/2016 8:59 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (7/0)

Feed-o-Fantastic!

I bought a (small) Feedomatic about a month ago. I have older hens and was really worried that they wouldn't 'get' it. They figured it out in about 3 minutes, and its been awesome. Easy to put together. Sturdy and solid. Easy to fill. Silent operation - so it doesn't scare my flighty BR. No chance of eating from the side and getting bonked by the lid. No wild birds or rats can use it. I'd say if you have smaller chickens two could fit side by side, but I have big birds and they eat one at a time, but it means the bossy ones go first and walk off leaving the others to eat in peace. Brilliant feeder. Can't fault it. Service from Chook Manor REALLy impressed me too, with lots of help to my crazy questions. Thanks Guys :)
From: Guest | Date: 9/30/2015 8:30 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (15/0)

Better than sliced breed

We are very happy with our feeder, and so are our hens. They were very quick to work out how the feeder worked, and happy to always have food waiting for them and not empty because vermin had taken there food. We think that within 12 months the money saved on food will of paid for the feeder.
From: Guest | Date: 7/9/2015 4:49 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (19/0)
Newsletter